Read dis instead

Hey guys! Today I want to tell you all about “Read dis instead”. Now I know not many people have heard of this subscription box service (yet) but you have to have to have to get in on this. It will help you, to quote Tamar Braxton, “Get your life”.

20171013_142539-1950742828.jpg

I came across Read dis instead on Instagram and was immediately intrigued.  It is a quarterly subscription box service whose aim is to ” Celebrate Black Women Writers and Promote Local Women in Business”. A Jamaican entrepreneur offering me books written by Black women and products made by local business women? Umm yes please. Take my money. (Hol’ up, lemme check my account balance real quick cuz the way my bank accounts set up I got a chequing and a savings…you know how di ting set up).

Once the funds did clear I took a chance and ordered the 2 books and brawta option and waited. I ended up waiting longer than I had to because silly me put the wrong post office in my address but that’s a different story. After walking downtown Montego Bay, in the heat AND the rain to the post office I finally had my box complete with purple ribbon wrapped around it looking adorbs! I was going to wait until I got home to open it but patience and I have never been friends so I tore into immediately and I was not disappointed! It was better than I expected. I  did a little happy dance in my office and sent the creator a voice message telling her how absolutly fanf*@!ingtastic I thought it was.

What’s in the box you ask? Let me tell you:

  1. Two books – “The Living Is Easy” by Dorothy West and “Stay with Me” by Ayòbámi Adébáyò. (I will do a review on these in the future)
  2. A poem – “Swimming” by Jamaican born writer Shanese “Sabali” Whyte.
  3. A handmade guango wood bookmark by Bartley’s All In Wood (check my Instagram for a pic of that).
  4. Morgan’s Creek Apple Crisp Hand Cream. It’s like my dry hands called out for moisture and Read dis instead answered. Also, it smells yummy!
  5. Coffee body polish by Pet & Pamper.
  6. Crystal Necklace by Sabynah Naturals.
  7. A packet of sweets by Sweetie Confectionary. (Wasn’t a fan of these but I don’t really like hard candy).

For the brawta, I had never heard of any of these companies so this box has already done it’s job in introducing me to local businesses. The books also aren’t ones I think I would have found on the shelves in any local bookstores (or lack thereof. Blog post on that to follow) so already I’m being exposed to new genres and authors. What else can I say? I’m a happy puppy! I think this subscription box is great if you want to treat yourself or the bookworm(s) in your life. It’s such an original idea and I’m happy that things like this are being introduced here in Jamaica. Especially one that aims to support local businesses. You can’t really be mad at that. 

I know people may not want all the things in this box, maybe you just want one book instead of two or just books and no brawta. Those options are available and carry different prices. Check it out and see which one you would like to try. You can find them on Facebook and Instagram. The next box goes out in January and I know that’ll be a great way to bring in the new year. 

Go get it and tell them Miss Bibliofancy sent you 🙂

https://www.instagram.com/readdisinstead/

https://www.facebook.com/Read-Dis-Instead-1073016109501330/

 

 

 


5 thoughts on “Read dis instead

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.